God as Jehovah Jireh

Joshua Ayorinde
3 min readAug 28, 2022

--

via/faithfulfitnesswithkrisi.com

One of the things I’m grateful for is how my parents taught me from a very young age to always seek God’s help for my needs. Whenever I needed anything, the first thing they asked me was “Have you prayed to God about it?”

Usually, my answers were negative. Why do I have to tell God when I would still have to tell you? My child-like self ignorantly thought. However, regardless of my response, my parents would tell me to pray that God provides for them so they could supply my needs. Now that I’m very much older, I understand how vital it is to rely on God for my every need.

In Genesis 22:14, Abraham referred to God as Jehovah Jireh which means- The LORD will provide. He was just about to sacrifice his son Isaac before the angel of the Lord told him to press the brakes and look out for the ram God had provided for the sacrifice. Whether or not Abraham expected God’s provision in form of a ram is unknown. However, he knew fully well that God was mindful of him and his son Isaac.

Whenever God supplies your needs, whether through expected or unexpected sources, it shows how much He is mindful of you.

It’s not different with me today. One thing I will never doubt is how much God is mindful of me. Recently, I realized I needed new jotters for journaling as the pages of the one I presently use is almost exhausted. I asked my Mom if she had any but her response was negative. I began to think of how I would purchase a new jotter. I’ve never had to buy one before because I always found a new one lying unwrapped and unused at home. Amazingly the next day, my parents paid a visit to my Aunt and while they were leaving, she gave them two jotters. Just what I needed. How glad I was when they gave me.

The reality is I express worry and anxiety when I lack resources essential to my well being but like many stories in scriptures, understanding God as my provider has shown me that God can use literally anyone and anything to meet my needs. God’s help came to Elijah through a needy woman and a raven. Who would have thought an animal would feed a human being?

This piece is a reminder that God is mindful of you and He can use anyone or anything to supply your needs. Only put your trust in Him.

P.S- As a means of helping and supporting undergraduates presently on strike, I’m offering to teach on personal finance and all that has to do with money management this week. This offer is open to only 10 students. You can sign up here if willing and interested.

Also, I’m inviting you specially to my church’s convention starting from Saturday this week. Details are in the flier below. You can also stream LIVE via Mixlr or YouTube.

Till another time,

Love and Light.

--

--